connecting the dots

I have done extensive research on the topic of double standards within homosexuality and have focused on two questions to pave the way for my quest into inquiry. The next step was to review the blogs of those in my inquiry group to ensure that we are all still on the same quest. I did find many connections between our blogs, mainly on the topics of religion, media, and societal repercussions.

While I was reading Alexa’s inquiry blogs I noticed that there were a lot of points that I could question to lead her further into discovery. In her Furthering the Standard blog post (https://akarambe.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/furthering-the-standard/) she discussed gay male identity formation. I would like the term gay male identity formation to be defined and specified to ensure the audience understands what exactly is being discussed. How can families show their support for homosexual child if their child never comes out to them? Is there anything that homosexuals fear more than acceptance from their family or society?

I also read the portion of the blog that covered the article “Attitudes of Black and White College students towards Gays and Lesbians” in which I questioned what the study shows for acceptance among black and white college students; the results were never clearly defined. This article also lead me to the question: Do you think a harmonic acceptance of homosexuality can be procured when there are so many demographics and opinions?

In the article about the tycoon whose daughter is a lesbian, I found the ending inquiry question to be very tasteful and I enjoyed the thought you left me to ponder on. Can you still see a double standard in homosexuality even if you’re not a part of the LGBTQA community and are not abreast of the situations in which they face?

I continued on to the More than a Double Standard Part 2 blog post (https://akarambe.wordpress.com/2015/02/14/more-than-a-double-standard-pt-2/) where I found a connection with my blog where masculinity’s changing definition. I blogged about gay bashing and the changing of it prevalence. Are there any studies that suggest a trend between gay parents and gay children? Are there any studies that indicate lesbian parents are better nurturers than gay parents? Could this be why the problem of children being raised in gay households exist? How have these societal expectations of masculinity in a man arise? When does it date back to or is it a trend of the times?

In Katherine’s blog post I found several connections between mine which was very appeasing. In the “Stereotypes and Does the Media see Homosexual mean as a joke?” blog post (https://kvaugha7.wordpress.com/2015/02/09/stereotypes-and-does-the-media-see-homosexual-men-as-a-joke/) I first noticed that she talked about stereotypes and labeling of the gay community which I also discussed in one of my blogs where I listed various labels that were attached to the LGBTQA community. How do you think that new generations are still learning these stereotypes? Through socialization in a family, school, or even a religious setting?

I also found a connection between Katherine and Alexa’s blog post about Family Acceptance article. Katherine discusses coming out to your loved ones and Alexa’s blog post also featured a piece about that topic. Do LGBT kids give their family a fair chance to accept them when they do not come out to their parents? Next I moved on to reading about Gay men vs Lesbians in reference to media. I too wrote about media in one of my blog post when in relation to how homosexuals are depicted through media. I found that homosexuals are invisible in media and when they’re shown, they’re represented through stereotypes. I like the example that Katherine gave about the Modern Family show and gays in a sports setting; it was a nice point of connection with her piece.

I read her blog post titled Love is Love, Regardless of Race, Religion, or Gender where one of her focuses are generation hate. Has generational gotten worse in this time frame? She also discusses Christianity being against gays which is stated in the bible, I also wrote about that in my blog post. Then I realized that Christianity is not the only religion that is not accepting of the gay community. Is homosexuality a man-made stigma or is it actually God’s testimony? Further into the blog post she discusses masculinity again. Is masculinity dependent on sexual preference of top/bottom/versatile?

Another question that I had while reading this blog post was have the “Stop Gay Jokes” commercials shown a change in societies convictions against gays?

In the “Taking it one step further” blog post I noticed that all of your blogs consistently intertwined with one another and I really liked that. The article that was titled Evaluations and Aggressions directed at gay male targets, I question if you think a lot of the men/women that are intimidated or fear homosexuals if they’re not quite comfortable with their sexuality? Like men/women on the “down-low” or still in the closet?

Leave a Reply

