“Acting Black”; When did ignorance become synonymous with being black?

The Subaltern

Arriving in the UK as an African girl with my luggage in tow and a massive grin on my face, filled with expectations,  I was halted in my steps by a discovery. I found that in the western world, it wasn’t enough to be born black, it was possible to act black, dress black, talk black.

I realised that just as there is a box often made for each and every one of us which only the daring and non-conformists manage to escape, there is a box made for black people in the western world to fit into, in the UK and even more so in the USA.

I was often told by black people who grew up in the UK (Black British) that I act white. When they see that my playlist isn’t filled with songs that refers to women as bitches and men as niggas, when they see artistes…

View original post 572 more words

One thought on ““Acting Black”; When did ignorance become synonymous with being black?

Leave a Reply

